MYA Future Leaders Council Present Recommendations to Mayor and City Council

~Recommendations advocate for additional technological resources~

The Mayor’s Youth Academy Future Leaders Council presented Mayor Dwight C. Jones and Richmond City Council with three recommendations to improve city youth access to additional technological resources during today’s City Council Informal Session. The recommendations grew out of the Future Leaders Council work to develop a youth agenda for teens in the city of Richmond. The three technological recommendations were:

1) City recreation centers should be equipped with Wi-Fi hot spots where internet is accessible. With this improvement youth will be able to connect their laptops, iPads, and smart phone devices to the internet.

2) City public libraries should designate ten to fifteen computers with limitless time for research projects, research papers, filling out job applications, college admittance applications, and financial aid.

3) Richmond Public Schools should assign employees to come before and after school to allow students extended time to work on school related activities and assignments.

“I would like to thank all of the youth participating in this year’s program for their insightful recommendations that were created to benefit the outcomes of all city youth,” said Mayor Jones. “These bright young students are examples of how we can build strong future leaders by providing engaging learning opportunities today.”

The Mayor’s Youth Academy Future Leaders Council is an out-of-school-time program that promotes leadership, civic engagement, and higher education. The program provides youth with various leadership opportunities through interaction with government officials, participation in workshops and seminars, and taking part in civic engagement and community service events. The program consists of 24 youth from 14 to 19 years of age.

The Mayor’s Youth Academy Future Leaders Council officers were elected to their positions by their peers to mirror those of Richmond City Government. The 2012 program officers include a Youth Mayor, Council President, Council Vice President, Council Clerk, Council Chief Administrative Officer, and nine Youth District Representatives.