Showing posts from January 4, 2009

Inauguration of Mayor Dwight C. Jones

WHO: Mayor Dwight C. Jones
The Honorable Robert Scott, 3rd Congressional District
The Honorable John Watkins, 10th Senatorial District
The Honorable Henry Marsh, 16th Senatorial District
The Honorable Franklin Hall, 69th House DistrictWHAT: Mayor Dwight C. Jones to be publicly sworn-in as Mayor of the City of Richmond WHEN: Noon, Saturday, January 10, 2009 Doors will open at 11:15 a.m.

WHERE: City Hall
City Council Chambers, Second Floor
900 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219

Mayor Dwight C. Jones is the second publicly elected Mayor to serve under Richmond’s Mayor-Council form of government. The Mayor has been an active public servant in the City of Richmond for over 35 years, and has not only served as a member of the House of Delegates, but has also served on numerous charitable and governmental boards and committees.The Mayor encourages all citizens attending the inauguration to b…

Mayor Announces Press Secretary

Mayor Dwight C. Jones announced today that he has designated Tammy D. Hawley to be his Press Secretary.

Hawley will begin her service to the City on Monday, January 12, 2009. “Tammy Hawley’s substantial experience in the public and private sector will serve the City well,” said the Mayor. “She will provide a comprehensive approach to City communications that will help our services and our messages. I am pleased that she has accepted this essential position in my administration.”

Hawley, a native of Richmond, attended JohnMarshallHigh School and has a Bachelor of Science degree from VirginiaCommonwealthUniversity’s School of Business. She also has training from the Executive Leadership Institute at IndianaUniversity. She has served as chief operating officer and chief development officer for the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), and as the executive general manager for the Afro-American Newspapers Company.

Hawley’s federal experience includes serving as l…

Special Election Tuesday, January 6, 2009

The special election to fill Mayor Dwight C. Jones’s 70th District House of Delegates seat takes place Tuesday, January 6, 2009 from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Registered voters living in the following City precincts are eligible to vote in this election: 402, 508, 609, 701, 702, 703, 705, 806, 811, 812, 814, and 903. Certain residents of Henrico and Chesterfield may also be eligible, and should contact their local registrar for more information.

The Mayor vacated this seat after being elected to serve as Mayor in November 2008.

For more information on this special election call (804) 646-5950.

Contact: Michael Wallace, (804) 646-2772