Inauguration of Mayor Dwight C. Jones

WHO: Mayor Dwight C. Jones
The Honorable Robert Scott, 3rd Congressional District
The Honorable John Watkins, 10th Senatorial District
The Honorable Henry Marsh, 16th Senatorial District
The Honorable Franklin Hall, 69th House District

WHAT: Mayor Dwight C. Jones to be publicly sworn-in as Mayor of the City of Richmond

WHEN: Noon, Saturday, January 10, 2009 Doors will open at 11:15 a.m.

WHERE: City Hall
City Council Chambers, Second Floor
900 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219

Mayor Dwight C. Jones is the second publicly elected Mayor to serve under Richmond’s Mayor-Council form of government. The Mayor has been an active public servant in the City of Richmond for over 35 years, and has not only served as a member of the House of Delegates, but has also served on numerous charitable and governmental boards and committees.

The Mayor encourages all citizens attending the inauguration to bring non-perishable items for donation to the Central Virginia Foodbank. Collection bins will be located at the 9th Street entrance to City Hall.

A reception will follow at the Library of Virginia.

If you wish to attend the inauguration of Mayor Dwight C. Jones, public parking will be available at several locations around City Hall.

  • Parking lot at 9th Street and Clay Street
  • Parking lot at 9th Street and Leigh Street

Parking will be available for media outlets that have large vehicles or live trucks on Broad Street directly in front of City Hall. We ask that smaller sedans and cars be parked in the lots available to the public.

Seating in Council Chambers is available on a first-come basis and overflow seating will be available on the first floor of City Hall.

Contact: Michael Wallace, (804) 646-2772